arrow-down

How to Wipe Your MacBook Pro Data

Protect your accounts, credit cards, personal photos, and other data by erasing your MacBook Pro data before you sell it. You can wipe all your data in these four easy steps.

STEP 1: Backup your MacBook Pro

There are four ways to backup your MacBook Pro:

· Time Machine backup

· iCloud backup

· Transfer files to an external drive

· Transfer your files and settings to a new Mac with Migration Assistant

No matter which MacBook Pro backup method you use, double-check that the backup was successful before moving on to the next step.

Time Machine backup

Set up Time Machine (you’ll need external storage), then browse to the Time Machine menu and select “Backup Now.” When the backup is complete, you can connect your external storage to a new Mac to transfer your files. Time Machine lets you choose which files to restore; or, you can restore your entire system from Time Machine backups.

iCloud backup

Set up iCloud. The process is automatic, so you’ll need to wait for iCloud to sync before you can move on to the next step. Once you have an iCloud backup, it’s a good idea to sync the files to another device running iCloud to ensure no errors occurred.

Transfer files to another device

Connect an external device (such as your new MacBook or an external hard drive), then use the Finder to locate and move the files you want to keep. You can use this method to transfer files, but not to restore your entire system (as you can with Time Machine).

Migration Assistant

Use Migration Assistant to transfer your documents, apps, accounts, and settings to a new Mac. Pair the two with a cable or via WiFi, open Migration Assistant, and follow the prompts.

NOTE: If you’re running on macOS Sierra or a later version, your computers must be near each other with WiFi turned on. If you’re running on OS X El Capitan or earlier, both computers must be connected to the same WiFi network.

STEP 2: Log out of Apple services

Sign out of all Apple services on the MacBook Pro you’re selling to prevent future users from gaining access to your Apple account.

STEP 3: Erase your MacBook Pro data

Erasing your MacBook Pro data requires a hard drive reformat and macOS reinstall. Here’s how to do it.

1. Restart your MacBook Pro, then press and hold Command + R to launch Recovery Mode

2. Select Disk Utility

3. Select your startup disk and click Erase

4. Erase using Mac OS Extended (Journaled) format

5. Select Disk Utility and click Quit Disk Utility

NOTE: If you’re using a MacBook Pro with Touch Bar, you can take an optional step to ensure information is deleted from the Secure Enclave in the Touch Bar. Launch Recovery Mode, then select Utilities > Terminal and type: xartutil –erase-all. Press return, type “yes,” then press return again. Choose Terminal > Quit Terminal. Learn more about this process.

STEP 4: Reinstall Mac OS

1. Launch Recovery Mode (restart, then press Command + R)

2. Select “Reinstall macOS”

3. Your operating system will be installed; when installation completes, press CMD + Q and select “Shut Down”

Thinking about selling your MacBook Pro?

This handy guide helps you determine your MacBook Pro value.

Or check any of these Flipsy Trust Verified stores to get a competitive quote. The process only takes around ten minutes, and you’ll get a quote delivered to your inbox in 24 hours or less. Be sure to accurately describe your MacBook Air’s condition to get the most accurate price.

Current Trust Verified Stores That Buy MacBook Pros

StorePayment Price LockVisit Button
Buyback Boss14 days
BuyMyPod30 days
Decluttr24 days
Gazelle30 days
GreenBuyback30 days
Previous:

X

Curious how much your phone is worth?