arrow-down

How to Wipe Your Mac Pro Data

Protect your accounts, credit cards, personal photos, and other data by erasing your Mac Pro data before you sell it. You can wipe all your data in these four easy steps.

STEP 1: Backup your Mac Pro

There are four ways to backup your Mac Pro:

· Time Machine backup

· iCloud backup

· Transfer files to an external drive

· Transfer your files and settings to a new Mac with Migration Assistant

No matter which Mac Pro backup method you use, double-check that the backup was successful before moving on to the next step.

Time Machine backup

Set up Time Machine (you’ll need external storage), then browse to the Time Machine menu and select “Backup Now.” When the backup is complete, you can connect your external storage to a new Mac to transfer your files. Time Machine lets you choose which files to restore; or, you can restore your entire system from Time Machine backups.

iCloud backup

Set up iCloud. The process is automatic, so you’ll need to wait for iCloud to sync before you can move on to the next step. Once you have an iCloud backup, it’s a good idea to sync the files to another device running iCloud to ensure no errors occurred.

Transfer files to another device

Connect an external device (such as your new Mac Pro or an external hard drive), then use the Finder to locate and move the files you want to keep. You can use this method to transfer files, but not to restore your entire system (as you can with Time Machine).

Migration Assistant

Use Migration Assistant to transfer your documents, apps, accounts, and settings to a new Mac. Pair the two with a cable or via WiFi, open Migration Assistant, and follow the prompts.

NOTE: If you’re running on macOS Sierra or a later version, your computers must be near each other with WiFi turned on. If you’re running on OS X El Capitan or earlier, both computers must be connected to the same WiFi network.

STEP 2: Log out of Apple services

Sign out of all Apple services on the Mac Pro you’re selling to prevent future users from gaining access to your Apple account.

STEP 3: Erase your Mac Pro data

Erasing your Mac Pro data requires a hard drive reformat and macOS reinstall. Here’s how to do it.

1. Restart your Mac Pro, then press and hold Command + R to launch Recovery Mode

2. Select Disk Utility

3. Select your startup disk and click Erase

4. Erase using Mac OS Extended (Journaled) format

5. Select Disk Utility and click Quit Disk Utility

STEP 4: Reinstall Mac OS

1. Launch Recovery Mode (restart, then press Command + R)

2. Select “Reinstall macOS”

3. Your operating system will be installed; when installation completes, press CMD + Q and select “Shut Down”

Thinking about selling your Mac Pro?

This handy guide helps you determine your Mac Pro value.

Where to sell your Mac Pro

Flipsy Trust Verified Stores Buying The Mac Pro

The following Trust Verified Stores provide cash quotes for your Mac Pro. Let them know your serial number (found on the back cover), condition and any included items. You’ll get a quote delivered to your inbox in about 24 hours. Be sure to describe your Mac Pro’s condition to get the most accurate price. Some of the stores have winnowers or serial number look ups to find your value but many have incomplete serial number databases, so while they may buy your Mac they won’t show a price. By contacting them with your serial number they can do the look up to provide the most accurate quote.

Related Help

>What’s your Mac Pro worth?

>Where to sell your Mac Pro?

>How to ship your Mac Pro?

>Prices for other Mac Computers

Previous:
Next:

X

FREE MONEY: The average household has $265 worth of old gadgets.